Thrifting

Years ago, I discovered garage sales. My kids, when young, would cringe if they saw me see a sign on the side of the road on a week-end because they knew if it was a garage sale…most likely mom would be stopping. As the kids grew up and life got busier for them, my garage sale week-ends went by the wayside. Once kids became adults and out of the house, it seems I’ve discovered Thrift Stores. If I’m looking for something, I’m always amazed that I usually find a perfectly good whatever that someone just didn’t need anymore. A few weeks ago, I went to lunch with my two sisters, and afterwards we hit a nice Thrift store in that town. Not sure why, but when I spotted this Linen scarf, it was a must have. I loved the design of it. It cost me a whole thirty cents.

DSC_0169 1

I’ve yet to decide what I want to do with this lovely. I’ve photographed it thinking I could make textures, backgrounds, and/or brushes with it. Also, I found an idea at http://freepatterns.com called Grandma’s Linen Pouches. grandma linen pouchesThose look cute so I may end up doing a pillow or something or fashion something.

After finding that Thrift Store find, I found more linen’s at a local Thrift. With those, I have fashioned some brushes that I’m hoping to put together to share with visitors to my site. [love making brushes with photoshop]

More thrift store linens:

DSC_0172 DSC_0169 DSC_0171

Love bargains and finding things to reclaim into something different and usable.

Sharing flowers the 6 yo grandbabykins brought me: He said he checked and there were no bugs on them. hahaha

DSC_0009

Thanks for visiting

peabea patch w ribbon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

irish-blessing-1

4 thoughts on “Thrifting

  1. Oh, your story of the yard sales and your kids sounds just like me and my family! When the cost of gas went sky high, I made the switch to one-stop shopping at our local thrift stores. Like you, I seldom pass up linens. Love your ideas for how to use re-purpose them. Can’t wait to see the brushes you make . . . I think I watched a lesson on the how-to, but can’t remember exactly how to do this! A beautiful find. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Donna..my one sister use to ask me when she’d visit and liked something in my house where I got it, and then she’d comment “Oh, that’s right…at a Garage Sale” We were usually broke when raising kids and my sister-in-law is who introduced me to Garage Sales, but I’m liking the one stop shopping (as you say) at the Thrift Stores. Making brushes are very easy in Adobe..I don’t know about other programs. Once you get your image or words, just click on Edit and scroll down to Define Brush and it’s there. Thanks again, so much, for stopping by and always nice to meet a fellow Thrifting enthusiast. :)

Leave a Reply

