Tulip Love

Tulip Love for Floral Love

Applied Mona’s free texture called Muse and left it as ‘normal’, and then I drew an elliptical and manipulated it so that my tulip flower shows through opening in the elliptical. This was accomplished by making the elliptical a new layer with a layer mask.

Sharing over at Floral Love

Button If you enjoy flower photography, you’ll love visiting Floral Love to see what Mona has shared as well as the other photographers. Click the Floral Love photo and it will take you there. :)

Happy Floral Love Wednesday

Here’s a link I found with some Tulip history that I found kind of interesting. Did not know there was such a thing as ‘Tulip Mania’ and eventually some went broke over their investment in Tulips. Click Tulip history or here’s the link also http://www.ehow.com/about_6690094_meaning-tulip-flower.html

Peabea

 

 

13 thoughts on “Tulip Love

  1. i like the contrast that you have between your tulips photo and your frame. one being bright and detailed and the other being neutral and ‘hazy’. i also like the depth within your elliptical and think that it adds a lot to this image.
    nice work.
    btw: i’m here via NatureFootsteps digital art survey.
    :-)
    libbyQ

  2. Good morning Patricia! I really like what you share here! I have a few questions for you because I am always wanting to learn. I am wondering how you designed your logo and do you use photoshop most of the time. I don’t have the software to do certain things, so I am trying to figure it out. Thank you!

    • Hi Mother Hen. My logo is just my name using a font and then I used a brush to add the small floral in between the name. I have found free fonts at different places on the web. http://www.kevinandamanda.com has lots of free fonts. I do use Photoshop Essentials most of the time. There is a free photoshop program called GIMP that does most everything that photoshop does, but I didn’t know about it until after I’d already invested in Photoshop, and I don’t really know a lot about it. Link is here http://www.gimp.us.com/gimplp2/index-yahoo.php?pk=4860&c=Gimpus_Q_USA_Exact if you want to check it out.
      Rita at The Coffee Shop Blog http://thecoffeeshopblog.com does a lot of nice tutorials and she has lots of free items. Kim Klassen also does some nice tutorials on her Texture Tuesday site, which should also be able to be used with GIMP.
      Although from what I’ve seen on your page, it appears you are doing a great job already. Thanks for stopping by….always enjoy seeing visitors as it gives me a chance to visit others. :)

      • Wow! Thank you for the information! I will investigate these sites. Now when you say you used a brush, does that mean that you draw or paint the image yourself? I am not familiar with that. Most of what do is at picasa. It is free and has been a wonderful avenue for me learn, but I am wanting a bit more now. Anyway, thanks again!

        • You can make brushes in Adobe Photoshop and probably in other photoshop programs, but there are lots of free brushes for download around the internet. If you’re using Picasa (I really like that program also), to make your logo, just type the text on your photos with whatever you want for your logo. I can do a tutorial or direct you to some tutorials on how to use brushes if you download a photoshop program like GIMP plus see the comment above from Betty where she shares a link to another free program.

Leave a Reply

