Thrifting Fun

Friday finds with type

Sometimes I find things….Sometimes I don’t.

This week though, I found some cute and some useful and some vintage. Sharing with Friday Finds.

Since I’ve always loved snail mail or as they use to just call it, keeping in touch by mailing a letter or postcard, I’m always thrilled when I find a bundle of note cards, card assortment or post cards. I enjoy sending a simple hello, feel better or just thinking of you to people. Since I do Postcrossing, finding post cards in my area are pretty much extinct. I’ve found one place about an hour away that has them, and I’ve found them online, but it use to be fun to just head to a drug store and they always had lots. Our area doesn’t even have the ones that tell about our town. Sad to me.

My Friday Finds: A nautical frame for my bedroom that is decorated with the lighthouse theme, a cute hook that will be great for my bathroom that I’m painting (one day soon ~ :)), a bolt of lace that is a bit wider than what I have on hand and it will get use since I love to craft, and the best of all was finding the scissors and among them is a Vintage pair that is used for cutting flowers. When looking them up online since I wasn’t sure what they were, I find that they are from around 1953 or 1954 so they will be perfect for my Etsy Shop if I decide to sell them. Undecided on that so far.

Finds scissors as poster edges

The Wiss Flower Shears

Finds as old paper effect

Just playing with the settings to make it look like old photo on this one.

Finds 1

Finds blur effect

Link to the info I found about Wiss Flower Shears.

Hope you enjoy my Friday Finds and have time to venture on over to Kim’s site to enjoy what others have found to share.

Happy Friday and much Blessings coming your way.

~hugs ‘n giggles~

Peabea 

fridayfindsbutton

happy spring

7 Comments

  1. Oh! I love that you do postcrossing! I have not done any since we moved to our new place but was talking to my husband this past week and told him this winter I will probably start back up again. It was soooo much fun and I am really missing it 🙂

    1. Thanks for visiting Tara. I started last winter doing the Postcrossing and got quite a few and even some Vintage ones is why I was excited to find some at that Antique store. I now need to figure how to send them out when I get vintage again. I’ll probably just copy how the vintage ones that had writing already and postage on them were sent to me. Have a great week. 🙂 And I’ll stop over for the next chapter in Leviticus. 🙂 I’m amazed that I’m trying to stay caught up. I got behind in March when had the flu, but am now on track. 😉 

  2. Oh how fun… I haven’t visited any thrift shops lately. My husband has had appointments that take us to the Portland VA lately so things have been a little hectic. The vintage gardening scissors are great!

    1. I don’t get out as often this year so far to thrift or to take photos. My car is old and not so reliable. Thanks for stopping by. Also, I did visit a new local antique store, and to my joy they had vintage postcards. A couple of boxes full, with dates back to 1910 and postage that I can use for Postcrossing. So fun to browse through the old cards, see the stamps once again (I so wish my mom had kept all that I sent as a kid ~ I loved mail even in those days and was always writing or sending postcards), and they even had some old valentines. The best part is they’re only asking 25 cents each. Can’t beat that. I plan to return for more. Haven’t Postcrossed lately though. Need to start again now that I’ve found some cards. They just don’t offer them around here to buy.

  3. Oh, how I LOVE to thrift shop!!! When my DAD is here for the winter, that’s what we do. Thrifts, flea mkts & yard sales. He collects golf stuff. I just collect!!!!! Love your goodies!!

    D : )

    1. I use to go to a lot of garage sales too, but as I age so has my car and just not reliable anymore so going to a thrift shop is one stop, and I usually just look for things to repurpose or can use like the cards. Thanks for visiting.

Love seeing your comments. I read each one. Thank you.

