Faux Dori Craft

20160201_120625

20160201_11531220160201_115304-001

Craft Time: Making a Paper Faux Dori. Mine I found a package of three cute file folders at the Dollar Tree. Used one to make the cover. Then like in the video that I worked from, I covered the small booklets of paper with some scrapping cardstock. The banding I used is actual a headband (a package of 6 found at The Dollar Tree). The cutesy added to the closing band is just a page bookmark that I already had. I already had some elastic to use for the inside to slide the books through, but I did buy some at Meijer since I wasn’t sure if I had the right size at home. With buying the elastic, the total cost to make my faux dori was $4.33. I already had the scrapping cardstock, but if you don’t have that, I saw one that used gift wrap. In the video, I don’t think she used the little eyelets for the elastic holders to pass through, but I already had some and thought that would reinforce the holes since it was paper. I think she just punched holes.

If you want to make your own, here is the video. I hope you’ll come back and share your project in the comments so I can see what you created.

Now I’m off to make a fabric one, and add some more accessories to my paper one. Have fun…:)

Happy February!! ‘n Lots of Blessings!!

Peabea

 

5 thoughts on “Faux Dori Craft

  1. I was posting on the one you shared in the DBJ group but it disappeared so I will post here instead. 🙂 I have a FauxDori that I bought just before Christmas, and I love it! I like making my own inserts for it. I have been using one of my inserts for my prayer journal/bible study journal but just decided that I go through them too fast and wanted a dedicated journal for it. I think I will make a paper dori just for my prayer journal/bible study journal now and keep my other one for my bullet journal and sketchbook. Thanks for sharing this! Perfect timing 🙂

    • Thanks Tara…love when I can find something new to keep my interest. Now that I know what they are and easy to make, I’m thinking perfect bday gifts for my girls. I saw one lady gets a package of three booklets at the Dollar Tree if you have one of those in your area. Mine didn’t have them. I found a site where you can download ones already made and print. I just think they’re fun with the cutesy things inside vs using them. Originally, I was going to use for the write out Scripture schedule that Sweet Blessings(http://www.swtblessings.com/2016/01/february-scripture-writing-plan-2016.html#.VrEdejPSl9A) shares, but then I ended up using the refashioned book that I’d done. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

    • So sweet of you..:) I’ve crocheted since a child and have always loved doing sewing or some sort of craft so these looked fun to make, plus I’d never heard the term Dori so had to look up to see what they were, and who doesn’t love paper and pens and planners. haha. Thanks for commenting. ~hugs~ 

Leave a Reply

