Nostalgia

Nostalgia

As perfume doth remain In the folds where it hath lain,

So the thought of you, remaining Deeply folded in my brain,

Will not leave me: all things leave me:

You remain.

– Arthur Symons

~A Bit ‘O History ~

  • In 1888, Toledo’s Dr. Allen DeVilbiss developed an atomizer. DeVilbiss used the atomizer to spray a small dose of medicine down the throats of his patients. Later on, the atomizer was repurposed as a spray finisher. In the early 1900s, atomizers began to be used to hold perfume.

Perfumes

  • By the time of World War I, many G.I.’s who were returning home from France through Paris picked up perfumes in atomizer bottles for their sweethearts and wives back home. Today, nearly all liquid perfumes are sold in some sort of atomizer. Decades ago, it was more common to see perfume atomizers with a bulb attached to a cord to pump the perfume through the mister. These days, few perfumes are sold in such receptacles. This is because pressurized atomizers with a bulb are more costly to make, and can become useless is the soft rubber of the pumping bulb is damaged. Read more: http://www.ehow.com/about_5085139_history-atomizers.html#ixzz2cVQhUyXp

Sharing with Texture Tuesday: (used kk_Stamped-Softly)

Tuesday Muse

The girl is compliments of The Graphics Fairy

sometimes you gotta

I’ve been making brushes, so this week thought I’d share one with you. You can click the photo above or download here.

(NOTE: to those that may have previously downloaded this brush, I apologize that I had left out the ‘A’, and have now fixed it to correctly say ‘Sometimes you just gotta stop an take a moment’ so please re-download the link. It has been corrected. Thanks..)

Original Picture

perfume atomizer for TT

Happy Tuesday, and have a great week,

Peabea

peabea patch w ribbon

20 Comments

  1. Such a beautiful, poetic photo / editing … And the subject! Oh there’s something about parfumes … I connect a certain type of scent to an situation … and am fond of parfumes – as much the lovely bottles and the fragrances!
    Happy weekend to you, Peabea!

    1. Thanks for visiting me Nancy. I found this one and it just brought back memories of the adults in my life that would use these everyday. Yes, some I’ve found online but were pricey are very lovely and older than this one.

    1. Hi Sharon, thanks for visiting and commenting. Did I miss your birthday? Saw it on Twitter. Thanks for the compliment. ~hugs ‘n have a great week~ If I missed your birthday, Happy Birthday late. 🙂 😉

  2. This lovely – it reminds me of my Grandma’s dresser 🙂 I really like that cute little girls face that you added to the photo and the texture that you used too.

    1. I’ve seen some of the ones with the long cord when I googled the perfume atomizer and on eBay but they were pricey so never ordered. Found this one at a garage sale. So glad you could stop by.

      ~hugs~
      Peabea

    1. Thanks for visiting and you’re welcome for the brush. They’re fun to make, and especially the ones I use over and over make it more convenient. Have a great week.

    1. Thank you…I really take that as a great compliment coming from one that has such wonderful photography. Appreciate your visiting me. Have a great week. 🙂

Love seeing your comments. I read each one. Thank you.

